The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.


Recent News

Annual Conference Registration Open
Registration for the Commission's 2011 Annual Conference is now open. The conference, including pre-workshops and the general program, will be held April 8 - 12, 2011, in Chicago.  
Statement on Marketing Practices at For-Profit Institutions
The Commission developed a statement on August 13, 2010 regarding the marketing practices at For-Profit Institutions.
Minimum Expectations within the Criteria for Accreditation
The Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE) of the U.S. Department of Education has required the Commission to file a compliance report for a corrective action plan by August 2, 2010.

Two key components of that plan concern the Commission's policies on institutional change and its Criteria for Accreditation
Updates to Institutional Change Policies

On July 1, 2010, the Commission's revised policies for notification and approval of institutional change become effective. The new policies reflect the Commission's effort to address the range and pace of change; to improve consistency and efficiency in the handling of requests; and to align our practices with federal definitions and the practices of sister agencies.

The Commission’s Pathways Construction Project

The Commission has developed a booklet to demonstrate the implementation of the Pathways Project. The new model proposes to separate the continued accreditation process as currently carried out through PEAQ into two components: the Assurance Process and the Improvement Process.


 More News

Frequently Asked Questions

Questions? Explore an extensive list of HLC Frequently Asked Questions.